Rome Prize 2010

Eligible: students
Register/Submit: 1 November 2010
Registration fee: 30$-75$

Each year, the coveted Rome Prize is awarded to thirty emerging artists and scholars in the early or middle stages of their careers who represent the highest standard of excellence in the arts and humanities.

Fellows are chosen from the following disciplines:



Historic Preservation and Conservation

Landscape Architecture

Literature (awarded only by nomination through the American Academy of Arts and Letters)

Musical Composition

Visual Arts

Ancient Studies

Medieval Studies

Renaissance and Early Modern Studies

Modern Italian Studies

Prize recipients are invited to Rome for six months or eleven months to immerse themselves in the Academy community where they will enjoy a once in a lifetime opportunity to expand their own professional, artistic, or scholarly pursuits, drawing on their colleagues' erudition and experience and on the inestimable resources that Italy, Europe, the Mediterranean, and the Academy have to offer.

Rome Prize winners are the core of the Academy's residential community, which also includes Residents and Visiting Artists and Scholars.

Fellows are encouraged to work collegially within and across disciplines in pursuit of their individual artistic and scholarly goals.

The Academy gratefully acknowledges the National Endowment for the Humanities for its support of the Rome Prize competition.

To find out more information click here