The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage

Eligible: professionals
Register/Submit: 1 October 2010
Registration fee: none
Prize: 10000 € 

The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage was launched in 2002 by the European Commission as part of the implementation of the Culture Programme. Europa Nostra, the Voice of Cultural Heritage in Europe, was selected to run this Awards Scheme on the basis of its long experience in publicly recognising individual or joint excellence in the field of Cultural Heritage at a European level.

The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards are granted annually to identify and promote best practices in the conservation of tangible cultural heritage, to stimulate the trans-frontier exchanges of knowledge and experience throughout Europe, to enhance public awareness and appreciation of Europe’s cultural heritage,and to encourage further exemplary initiatives through the Power of Example.

Outstanding heritage achievements will be awarded in the following categories: Conservation Research Dedicated Service by Individuals or Organisations Education, Training and Awareness-Raising

Criteria for the assessment of entries include excellence in the work executed and preliminary research conducted, as well as respect for artistic, cultural and social value, setting, authenticity and integrity. Special attention will also be paid to sustainability, interpretation and presentation, educational work, funding and management, and social responsibility. Entries can be on a scale ranging from small to large, local to international, and should display a standard of work considered outstanding in a European context.

The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards consists of two award levels. Up to six entries will be awarded a Grand Prix, which includes a monetary award of € 10 000. Up to twenty-five entries will receive an Award.

To find out more information contact Elena Bianchi Heritage Awards Coordinator at