UNESCO-Greece Melina Mercouri International Prize for Safeguarding and Management of Cultural Landscapes

Eligible: professionals
Register/Submit: 1 September 2010
Registration fee: none

The purpose of the prize is to reward outstanding examples of action to safeguard and enhance the world`s major cultural landscapes. The prize is awarded every two years and is namened after Melina Mercouri, a distinguished actress and former Minister of Culture of Greece, a precursor in the field of integrated conservation and sustainable development.

Candidates for the prize may be nominated by the governments of Member states and by relevant NGOs maintaining formal consultative relations with UNESCO.

The landscapes proposed in connection with the nomination must fit the definition of at least one of the three categories of cultural landscapes defined by the World Heritage Committee.

To find out more information contact

UNESCO-Greece Melina Mercouri Prize
UNESCO Culture Sector Executive Office
7, Place de Fontenoy
75352 Paris 07 SP
E-mail: melinamercouriprize@unesco.org